Following a final day of play on Saturday 14 August for National Softball League 1 teams at Farnham Park, the eight teams that have qualified for the NSL1 National Championship have been decided and Pioneers have been crowned as league champions.

It was tight at the top of the league, as Pioneers, Chromies and H2O all finished the season with two losses each – but Chromies also had a draw and H2O had two, while Pioneers had none.

Nationals places

The real struggle was lower down the table where teams were scrambling to finish in the top eight and qualify for this year’s NSL1 Nationals, scheduled for the weekend of 4-5 September at Farnham Park.

This battle went down to the wire, and it was only after the final round of games that things were decided.

Former finalists Legends fell at the final hurdle and the Tigers and Greensox dipped in and out of a Nationals place as the day went on.  The Tigers, in ninth place going into their final game of the day, beat Blue Steel to claim their Nationals spot, leaving the Greensox just outside.

Meanwhile, Blitz Bombers, who started the day in tenth position, put together a fantastic run of late results to claim a place in their first season.

KKs, who just missed out in their first season in 2019 when they finished ninth, comfortably got a place this time around.

The final table, with the top eight teams going to Nationals, looks like this:


While Nationals places and the league winners were decided on Saturday, the teams played a mini-tournament on Sunday, starting with four groups of three using the final league standings for seedings.

Based on group results, the teams then divided into Gold, Silver and Bronze groups for playoffs.