GB Under-19 Men announce squad for Euros

Wed 10 May 2017

GB Under-19 Men’s Team Head Coach Chris Yoxall has announced his first selection for a major tournament, naming 14 players to take part in the European Junior Men’s Championship to be played from 24-29 July in Prague.

Supported by Assistant Coach Josh Peat and External Selector John Brown, Chris had to make some difficult decisions in selecting from a very talented player pool, and four reserve players have also been named, to be called on if any of the first team squad are unable to travel.

The final selection combines experience with some very promising young players bought into the squad following a nationwide search by Team Manager Ian Tomlin, who called on slowpitch League Heads to help identify local talent.

In choosing the side, the management team has looked beyond the Europeans and has one eye on the goal of competing in the in the WBSC Junior Men’s World Championship in Canada in the summer of 2018 by including eight players who will still be of qualifying age.


The goal for the GB Under-19 Men’s Team this summer will be to finish higher than the fifth place they achieved in the last two European Championships.

This time, the coaching staff has ensured that preparation for the European Championship has been far greater than in previous years.  Four training weekends have been planned as well as encouraging full squad attendance at Softball National Academy sessions.  In addition, players from the squad have entered two European open fastpitch competitions and three single-sex slowpitch events in the UK.

All this, coupled with 20 games in the Great Britain Fastpitch League, has the management team believing that the squad will be well prepared and will perform well in the Czech Republic this summer.

Players and staff

The 14 players selected for the 2017 GB Under-19 Men’s Team for the European Championship come from all around the UK:

Nathan Barratt (Sale, Cheshire)
Kai Benaim (Slough, Berkshire)
Mason Brockway (Purbrook,, Portsmouth)
Daniel Downes (Flixton, Manchester)
Jonathan Downes (Flixton, Manchester)
Max Fagan (Stockport, Cheshire)
Sam Grafton (Pewsey, Wiltshire)
Oliver Howley (Chichester, West Sussex)
Tom Lang (West Bridgeford, Nottinghamshire)
Jack Nielan (Banbury, Oxfordshire)
Jake Roberts (Witney, Oxfordshire)
Tom Russell (Stockport, Cheshire)
Ben Tomlin (Arnold, Nottinghamshire)
George Young (Kidlington, Oxfordshire)

Reserves are:

Evan Harvey (Burnham, Buckinghamshire)
Joe Norris (Bettws Newydd, Monmouthshire)
Jack Scholes (Liverpool)
Andrew Greener (Kimberley, Nottinghamshire)

The staff at the European Championship will be:

Head Coach:  Chris Yoxall
Assistant Coach:  Josh Peat
Team Manager:  Ian Tomlin
Support Team:  Clare Tomlin

Back to news listing